Gordon B. Cutler, Jr., MD

Dr. Cutler is a graduate of Harvard College and Harvard Medical School, and completed internship and residency training in internal medicine (at Barnes Hospital) and a fellowship in endocrinology (at the National Institutes of Health).  Gordon served as Senior Investigator (1978-1983) and Chief, Section on Developmental Endocrinology (1983-1997), at the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development, and then moved to Lilly Research Laboratories (1997-2008) as Medical Director and, later, Distinguished Medical Fellow.

Since 2008, he has been an independent consultant to the biotechnology and pharmaceutical industry in the areas of clinical strategy and late-stage clinical trial design and execution.  His scientific and professional interests have included disorders of growth, puberty, adrenal and parathyroid gland function, and diabetes.  He has published over 280 peer-reviewed papers, and trained numerous adult and pediatric endocrinologists.

Dr. Cutler’s research has led to FDA approval of histrelin (for precocious puberty) and ovine corticorelin (for differential diagnosis of Cushing syndrome), and to new FDA-approved indications for human growth hormone (for idiopathic short stature and SHOX gene deficiency).  He led development strategy at Lilly for drugs targeting muscle (e.g., GH, GH secretagogue, SARM, and anti-myostatin), obtained US and EU regulatory advice on treatment of frailty, and co-authored a consensus report on designing RCTs for frailty in the elderly.  He also co-invented a novel, ultra-long-acting basal insulin (basal insulin peglispro, LY 2605541)—for which development was halted for business reasons after phase 3 clinical trials—and led the design of 9 phase 3 trials for Lilly’s inhaled insulin product, which was cancelled for commercialization risk.

Gordon is a member of The Endocrine Society, American Diabetes Association, American College of Physicians (Fellow), American Medical Association, and American Association for the Advancement of Science.  Honors include the US Public Health Service Commendation Medal, Outstanding Service Medal, and Meritorious Service Medal, and Lilly Research Laboratories President’s Award.